Horseracing in South Africa

South Africa is home to seven different racetracks – Kenilworth and Durbanville in the Western Cape, Turffontein and the Vaal in Gauteng, Greyville and Scottsville – which are based in KwaZulu-Natal and Fairview in the Eastern Cape.

Gauteng, KwaZulu-Natal and the Western Cape are the main racing centres and all South Africa’s Grade One races are held in these three centres, focused on turf tracks. Greyville, which hosts a number of meetings at night, and Fairview, also sport polytrack courses, with the polytrack having first been introduced to Durban in 2014.

The Breeders Grade 1 trophy, made especially for the TBA by South African Sculptor Bruce Little, and awarded to the breeder of each South African-bred Grade 1 winner.
Green Point Stakes at Kenilworth.


Feature Race Programme 2023-2024

Date RacecourseRace Distance
JANKenilworthL'Ormarins King's PlateG11600m
 Kenilworth Paddock StakesG11800m
KenilworthCape Town MetG12000m
 KenilworthMajorca StakesG11600m
 Kenilworth Cape Flying ChampionshipG11000m
FEBKenilworthCape DerbyG12000m
MARCHTurffonteinS A ClassicG11800m
 Turffontein Wilgerbosdrift SA Fillies ClassicG11800m
APRILTurffonteinSA DerbyG12450m
 TurffonteinH F Oppenheimer Horse Chestnut StakesG11600m
 TurffonteinHSH Princess Charlene Empress Club StakesG11600m
TurffonteinPremier's Champions ChallengeG12000m
 Turffontein Computaform SprintG11000m
MAYGreyvilleDaily News 2000G12000m
 Greyville Woolavington 2000G12000m
JUNEScottsvilleGolden Horse SprintG11200m
 Scottsville SA Fillies SprintG11200m
 Scottsville The Witness Gold Medallion G11200m
 Scottsville Allan Robertson ChampionshipG11200m
GreyvilleHollywood Bets Gold ChallengeG11600m
JULYGreyvilleHollywood Bets Vodacom Durban JulyG12200m
 GreyvilleRidgemont Garden Province StakesG11600m
GreyvilleChampions Cup G11800m
 GreyvilleMercury SprintG11200m
 GreyvillePremiers Champion StakesG11600m
 Greyville Thekwini StakesG11600m
NOVEMBERTurffonteinGauteng Summer CupG12000m
DECEMBERKenilworthWSB Cape Fillies GuineasG11600m
 KenilworthHollywood Bets Cape GuineasG11600m